The Bad And The Ugly of 2009

Well the time has come; A time to reflect and discuss the best, worst, and what we missed this year at the cinema and at home.  obviously, this is a list of all the crap films I saw this year. Admittedly, my list of the worst films of the year is short because i didn’t actually see that many bad movies this year.  It still doesn’t change the fact That I would have loved to of bashed some of the films I didn’t see.  I was smart and decided to save my $9.50 and not see such films as THE Final Destination, Jennifer’s Body, and 2012. I didn’t see Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, which Richard Roeper called (and I quote):

“The first one was big, loud and stupid, but entertaining. The sequel is bigger, louder, stupider and dull beyond belief — and it goes on for two and a half hours, which feel like two and a half days. They’re going to keep making “Transformers” sequels forever, aren’t they? Nooooooooooo please nooooooo!”

And I didn’t see anything with vampires this year so I cannot bash the evil that is The Twilight Saga: New Moon. I might add that it is only with restraint that I don’t bash these Emo vamp morons over the head with a cricket bat, but I digress. Here is what I did see that didn’t pass the test:

1. Funny People

Many, many critics are going to disagree with me on this one, but not only was this film a huge disappointment, it wasn’t funny. I mean there were a few moments early on that were funny and the cameos where a laugh, but many of the jokes were stale 10 years ago.  The cast in this movie may be amazing, but not even Rogen and Sandler could save this boring story.

2. Year One

WOW, I didn’t think it could be done, but this film accomplished it….an entire comedy without a single funny moment in it.  I felt like Mr. Black and Mr. Cera took my money and then proceeded to smack me in the face with one of the oversized prop clubs they used in the movie.  Jack Black has made some hit and miss films in his career but this is by far his worst.

3. G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra

Hey did you see ANY action film this year or in the past 5 years? You have? Well then you can skip this movie.  This has one of the most generic scripts I have ever seen and mediocre special effects. Not to mention the “suits”.  Let me explain something:  The Movie isn’t called Robot Joe: The Rise of Cobra, It’s called G.I. JOE: The Rise of Cobra.  Oh and props to Brendan Fraser for have one of the worst cameos to ever grace the silver screen.

4. X-Men Origins: Wolverine

Well this isn’t as bad as the third X-men film but it’s nowhere as good as the first film or the second one for that matter. This film only had two purposes: Blow something up every five minutes and to steal your money.  Everyone knows the origins of Wolverine if they saw the X-men trilogy.  Super hero films have run their race and this film is proof of that.

5. The Haunting In Connecticut

Horror films have been all rather…a like as of late and this is a good example of that. No story, just scare. Generic script, predictable plot.  Not going to waste my time typing much about this film.  What happened to the good ole’ days when suspense was more important than just making something appearing out of nowhere?  I describe the modern horror film as this: A haunted house, you know you’re going to scream but you’ll be safe at the end.  Sigh.

Well that is my list of the worst films I saw in 2009. I only listed five so it would be great to get some feedback and for you to list your 5 or 10 worst films of this year.  Don’t be shy, let me and everyone know how you feel about that one film that just sucked.  Or was I wrong? Did I bash one of your favorite flicks? I hope not but if I did you can tell me off, I won’t mind. Goodnight and Enjoy!

 

 

 

3 Responses to “The Bad And The Ugly of 2009”

  1. Good post, I like that take on it.

  2. Annette Says:

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe!🙂. I’ll go and read some more!

Leave a Reply

