The Best Movies of 2009

2009. 10 years ago, Brad Pitt and Edward Norton were spreading anarchy in Fight Club. Clooney, Wahlberg, and Ice Cube were stealing gold in Three Kings. Keanu Reeves was becoming “the One” in The Matrix.  Michael Clarke Duncan was the gentle giant in The Green Mile. And Angelina Jolie was showing us her talent in Girl, Interrupted.  2009 had a lot to prove on the tenth anniversary of all these movies and it didn’t disappoint.  Below is my list of the ten best films i saw in 2009.

1. INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS

“This just might be my masterpiece.”  This is the final words uttered by Lt. Aldo Raine at the end of Quentin Tarantino’s Inglourious Basterds, and he was exactly right.  This film IS Tarantino’s masterpiece, which is something hard to say considering this is the director who brought us Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, and Kill Bill.  But this certainly is his best work to date.  Split into 5 chapters, this film tells two separate stories that finally meet in the explosive 5th chapter.  Set in Nazi Occupied France,  Brad Pitt brilliantly plays Lt. Aldo Raine (A.K.A Aldo the Apache), who leads a group of American, Jewish soldiers through France killing and scalping Nazi soldiers.  This movie has so many unforgettable characters, such as Aldo the Apache, The bear Jew (played by Eli Roth), the Little Man (the underused B.J. Novak), my personal favorite Hugo Stiglitz (Amazing German actor Til Schweiger), and the scary SS officer Hans “the Jew Hunter” Landa (performed by Christoph Waltz).  This isn’t an in your face action film, it a dialogue driven film that is expertly written by Tarintino himself. I can’t say enough about this film.  If you haven’t seen this yet, go buy it and be prepared to, as Hugo Stiglitz put it, “Say auf Wiedersehen to your Nazi balls.”

(PS:  Mr. Director Quentin Tarintino sir, If you want to get rid of one of those leftover IB crew jackets, I would gladly take it off your hands)

2. District 9

An action film that has an underlying message: racism.  This movie tells the story of a group of aliens (Called “Prawns”)who landed in Johannesburg, South Africa 28 years ago after their ship breaks down and instead of being met with curiosity, they are met hostily and rounded up into refugee camps.  Presented as a mock documentary, this film has a realness and heartiness that should make this an instant Sci-Fi classic.

3. Gran Torino

The may be Clint Eastwood’s last acting job, and I feel like Mr. Eastwood couldn’t have said goodbye any better that as Walt Kowalski, an older and more pissed off version of Dirty Harry.  While the supporting cast may be a little weak, Eastwood shines in this drama and was unfairly snubbed at last years Oscars.

4. Star Trek

J.J. Abrams has proven himself to me this year.  I finally admitted that his T.V. series Lost is awesome. I also finally got around to seeing Cloverfield, which blew me away.  So I was expecting something pretty amazing when I went to see Star Trek and he once again delivered.  Since I grew up on Star Wars, I was skeptical if I would like this revamp but I did and now look forward to expanding my Star Trek knowledge.

5. Watchmen

Met with mixed reviews and skepticism from fans of the graphic novel, Watchmen had a good first week but was soon forgotten in the minds of everyone.  But I saw magic in this movie.  From the stylized action sequence to the grindhouse shooting style, I was impressed.  How can you forget Jackie Earle Haley as Rorschach and Jeffrey Dean Morgan as The Comedian? What I really liked about this movie is that the characters aren’t perfect, in fact, far from it.

6. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

I know you must be asking why I put a Harry Potter film on my best of  ’09 list.  Well it for this simple reason: HP and the Half Blood Prince was amazing.  From the numerous great performances to the new shooting techniques to the developing (and genuine feeling) love stories,  I’m going to say this is the best Potter film to date.

7. The Blind Side

Well who didn’t see this awesome story? Ok, well the one person who raised their hand can put it down now.  This is a powerful story about family, love, and how you can succeed if you just have the motivation.  And Sandra Bullock proved that she can have a good performance every blue moon.

8. The Hangover

The Comedy so nice I saw it twice.  This is by far the best comedy i saw this summer.  Who couldn’t love Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, and Zach Galifianakis in this Las Vegas bachelor party gone wrong?  I leave it at that.

9. Sherlock Holmes

I know this one just came out, but what can i say….I know: Guy Ritchie and Robert Downey Jr. Enough said.

10. Zombieland

Glad to see a GOOD Zombie film can make it in these horrible, shirtless, wimpy, moronic vampire times.  I so hope they make a sequel called Zombieland 2: Brain Bashin’ Robert Pattinson.  Amazing directorial debut from Ruben Fleicher

Honorable mentions: Taken, UP, The Soloist, Adventureland, and House Season 6 Premier episode (I know my last Honorable mention isn’t a movie per se, but with its over hour and a half  run time, great script, and the fact that you don’t have to of ever seen an episode of House to enjoy this, I’m recommending it anyways).

Well that concludes my list of the 10 ten movies of 2009. I want to hear your list and what you think should have been on my list. Until next time, enjoy.

 

2 Responses to “The Best Movies of 2009”

  1. Awesome job Kevin…. 🙂 (I wouldn’t change a thing!)

  2. Josh Mason Says:

    I agree withmuch and disagree with much.

    1.Inglorious Basterds. I felt it was a complete waste of time. I don’t mind when people rewrite history for movies but in this case he went overboard. I did feel it had a few decent moments and and an excellent perfromance from the actor who played the nazi who got scalped in the final scene. I forgot the name of the actor and character he portrayed but a great performance none the less. As for the rest of the film, complete trash.

    2. I completely agree. Although I didn’t see any racism message in the film and prefer not to. (You know me well enough to understand why). I completely agree that this is a sci-fi classic and I can’t wait for the sequel

    3. Gran Torino was “meh” Don’t get me wrong. It was a decent movie just not “MY” type of movie

    4. Star Trek- I think it’s safe to say that this was one of the biggest surprises ever. I went into the summer blockbuster season expecting this to be at the bottom of the great film list and transformers 2 to be at the top. But I came out of the summer blockbuster season with this notion reversed. J.J. Abrams is one of my all time idols

    5. Watchmen: Never saw it so I can not comment

    6. Harry Potter 6: I felt it was boringly average. I haven’t been excited about a potter film since the second one.

    7. The Blind Side- Kevin, we need to talk……

    8. Tha Hangover- Easily in the top 5 comedies ever made! Zac Galifinakis was hilarious!

    9. I thought the same thing you did before I saw it, I think you’re in for a big dissappointment my friend. It’s not the action packed thrillride the trailer makes it out to be. Instead it’s a dull lifless movie in which the only salvagable thing is downey jr.’s performance.

    10. Zombieland: great movie. Loved Bill Murray’s cameo

    Upon analyizing this. I agree with you about 75%

Leave a Reply

