You Complete Me….If I Had Seen You (Movie Wish List of 2009)

There were a ton of movies that came out in 2009. I saw quite a few of them, but there are some that I missed. Some of the ones that I missed are the ones that I craved the most to see. They proved the most difficult to find. They came and went before I had an opportunity to see them.  Whatever the reason, I missed them at the theater.  The worst part of missing it the first time around is you have to wait months for it to come out on some form of home media, which can sometimes prove harder to find.  Here is my list of the top 10 movies I wish I saw in 2009.

1. Adam

I probably saw the trailer for this movie more that a hundred times.  I just love the idea of a grown up Romantic film without a generic script. Let me ask you this: Did you ever see the one where the girl falls for the odd guy next door who has Asperger Syndrome? No? Well me either.  And with a great cast such as Hugh Dancy, Rose Byrne, Peter Gallagher, and Frankie Faison, I was ready to see this one at the local theater.  The only problem was it never showed up at the local theater.  All I can say is I can’t wait to get my hands on this DVD. Available now or soon.

2. The Hurt Locker

A movie about the Iraq war and the effects it has on people….SEEN IT.  But when I saw the trailer for Kathern Bigelow’s Oscar contender, there was something different about it.  It looked authentic, gritty, and different…A good change of pace from the polished and stylized war films that have come out as of late.  I have always  thought Jeremy Renner was one of the best actors working today and from what hear he really delivers in this movie. Available January 12.

3. (500) Days of Summer

Looks like another romantic comedy snuck into my wish list.  But much like Adam, This movie looked original and grown up.  I love everything about Zooey Deschanel, from her music (She & Him) to her acting.  With so many positive reviews about this film and being compared to other classic movies such as Annie Hall, this film won me over from the first time I saw the trailer. Available now.

4. Where the Wild Things Are

Just go watch the trailer….now…don’t worry I’ll still be here………I KNOW, doesn’t it look amazing! Spike Lee looks like he has made an instant classic and all I’ve seen is the trailer. Available soon.

5. Whip It!

I love Drew Barrymore. I love Ellen Page. I love Juliette Lewis. As you can see, I was immediately drawn to Barrymore’s directorial debut about women’s roller derby. Available January 26.

6. The Damned United

A sports movie that is about failure not triumph in a sport that demands excellence (Football, I mean real football, you know where you actually use your feet, also known as soccer).  A story about Brian Clough’s short tenure as manager of Leed’s United. Available soon.

7. Moon

Sam Rockwell plays a astronaut in the future stationed on the Moon. At the end of his three-year stint, Rockwell’s character begins experiencing strange happening that mess with his head.  This film has been compared with 2001: A Space Oddity…need any more reason to see this movie? Available soon.

8. tie: Sin Nombre/ Gomorrah

Two films that give us a look at modern gangs. Sin Nombre is about a Mexican gang member who’s trying to leave his gang.  Gomorrah is set in Italy, and follows different people who are involved in the modern day Sicilian gang.  Gomorrah is available now. Sin Nombre will be available soon.

9. The Baader Meinhof Complex

The retelling of a military/terrorist group called the Red Army Faction that came to power during the early years of West Germany. This film looks more like a documentary than an acting effort. Available soon.

10. Anti-Christ

I’ve seen the trailer for this movie multiple times and I am still confused about what this is about. Available soon.

That’s my wish list. Did you see any of the films i mentioned here? Did you like it or not? Are some of you mad that I didn’t put Avatar on my list? Leave your thoughts and opinions below.

One Response to “You Complete Me….If I Had Seen You (Movie Wish List of 2009)”

  1. Josh Mason Says:

    Yes, I am mad because you didn’t have avatar on here but I’m even more upset that you don’t have 2012 on here. When you finally see 2012 you’re going to be apologizing to me for weeks

Leave a Reply

