I Saw A Film Today… It’s Kind Of A Funny Story

In order to see It’s Kind Of A Funny Story, I had to deviate from my usual cinema. With my cousin driving we made our way into the heart of Memphis to the Malco Ridgeway Four, a small theater that shows film that do not receive wide releases. As soon as I walked in the door, I fell in love with the place. It is an older theater and had all the charms of one. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the workers warm and friendly. I had always wanted to go to this theater and based on my experience last night I plan on returning many times for those hard to find movies.

**********************

Craig (Keir Gilchrist) is a  typical high schooler who has “a lot going on”. But unlike many high schoolers, he thinks about killing himself and is only stopped from doing so when he thinks about the effect it would have on his family. Craig decides to check himself into Psychiatric Hospital and is placed under a mandatory five-day stay.

Since the teenage psych ward is undergoing renovations, Craig is thrown in with all the adult crazies. He is taken under the wing of Bobby (everyone’s favorite beardo, Zach Galifianakis), another patient who knows his way around the hospital.

While settling into his surroundings, Craig begins to learn about all the patients and eventually meets Noelle (Emma Roberts), a cute wristcutter. These interesting characters help Craig learn more about himself, his ambitions, and that there might be a bright side to life that he never saw before.

It’s Kind Of A Funny Story was a real fun film to experience. While I went into it expecting light material, I soon learned that its story is quite heavy, and dark (Sprinkled with comedy in between). It may follow a formula of story telling that is familiar to most movie goers, but it is well done and has it’s moments of originality.

Zach Galifianakis is finally given the opportunity to really let loose in this film and he gives an amazing performance. This is also the first time I have seen him give a dramatic scene in a movie and I honestly had the hairs on the back of my neck stand up at how great it was. Is there a future for him in a dramatic role? Only the future knows. Emma Roberts was also a delight to watch and I can not wait to see her in another grown up role.

The rest of the supporting cast was great (including Lost’s Jeremy Davies as a staff member for the hospital). The only role that was not up to par was the lead, Keir Gilchrist. I’m not saying he did not give a good performance, just miscast for this role. At times he seemed uncomfortable and unprepared.

It’s Kind Of A Funny Story was more than a “kind of'” funny story. While it suffered from some out-of-place fantasy moments and a formulaic script, you should search for it when it comes out on dvd (or if it is playing close by, pay your local cinema a visit).

Verdict: RENT IT!

*Special thanks to my cousin Scott for sharing this cinematic adventure with me.

Comments? Opinion? Leave them below.

Leave a Reply

