I Saw A Film Today… Men In Black 3

One of my fondest and most memorable movie experiences is my brother, Jared, taking me to see Men In Black in theaters. I was seven and I’m pretty sure it was opening weekend for it. He took me to the theater inside the Wolfchase Mall. I remember just how, excuse the pun, out of the world the film was. I remember how close we sat to the screen.  And as with most memorable films, I remember it for the reason that it was shared with family or friends.

******

Agents K (Tommy Lee Jones) and J (Will Smith) are still working strong together as partners at the mysterious organization known simply as the Men in Black. That is until an alien named Boris the Animal (Jemaine Clement) escapes a prison on the moon and now plans to kill K in the past, groovy 1969 to be exact, because K shot his arm off all those years ago.

After K doesn’t show up for work the next morning, it becomes clear to J that Boris accomplished his task. After locating a device that can take him back in time, he arriving a day earlier than the killing of his partner. It doesn’t take long for J to instead comes in contact with a young K (Portrayed by Josh Brolin). Working together, can the two change fix the past and change the future?

For a sequel to a film that come out close to ten years ago, it feels like very little has changed outside of the fact that the main characters look a little older. And that is the real problem I have with this film. I was expecting something a little more grown up. At least make the weapons anything other than completely chrome. Am I the only one who thinks this is a poor weapon material? I may be picking on something miniscule that most enjoy, but I was expecting something a little bit more really.

The film itself is actually quite fun. There’s plenty of action and comedy here that has shaped this series into what it is now. Since this one goes back to the late 60’s there are some great opportunities at comedy that are maximized upon. One example is that maybe Andy Warhol wasn’t actually an artist. If I had to compare it to the others in the series, I would put it between the original and the second movie. It’s rated PG-13 by the always correct MPAA (I often wonder how much of my sarcasm is taken as sincerity and vise versa?) but I believe that any child above ten or so would enjoy it, especially if they have already seen the other films.

Will Smith, much like Robert Downey Jr., is one of those rare actors that can portray two emotions at once. Three if they are really trying. This film is no exception. This is his baby and he goes all out. It’s a shame this man doesn’t get more work, or take more work more appropriately.

Josh Brolin is a great new addition to the cast. I actually didn’t expect much from his performance. Goes to show the you never underestimate the ‘Bros. And Jemaine Clement does a good enough job as Boris the Animal. I’m not saying he was a great villain, but he does well enough with what he was given. As for Tommy Lee Jones and Emma Thompson, all I can say is that with the little screen time they get they do a pretty decent job.

Men in Black 3 is a pretty good film but in the end it’s nowhere near the film that you would expect after ten years of waiting. Although I don’t know many people who were waiting for a third installment.

Verdict: RENT IT!

*Rated PG-13 for Sci-fi action violence and brief suggestive content.

** Poster by unknown.

One Response to “I Saw A Film Today… Men In Black 3”

  1. That made me feel all nostalgic.
    Very nice.

Leave a Reply

