A Few Things That Require Addressing and the Future of this Website

A little house cleaning:

  1. I’m sorry. I have been lazy and inconsistent on this website for many months now. Laziness and inconsistency are two of the greatest sins I can think of for those who have made an effort to try to read whatever I write. And as is the way of the world, sin must be dealt with swift punishment. I have seen this in losing views on the site and support of those who once were gracious enough to offer it. I could slag it off and blame it on the viewers themselves. But if I want to really know why I’ve dropped so drastically, I need only look in a mirror. So again, I’m sorry.
  2. To atone for my laziness, it’s time to get back to business. In the immediate future, I’m going to get to watching some stuff so I can get to reviewing them. Tonight or tomorrow afternoon I should have watched the recent horror film Maniac starring Elijah Wood. Tomorrow night I’ll be seeing Pacific Rim. And if it requires me going to hell and back, I will find a way to see Nicholas Winding-Refn’s Only God Forgives this Friday. And just as a reminder, Saturday is the one year anniversary of the Aurora Colorado shooting. I have some of an article typed up, but I’m finding it difficult to finish for personal reasons. It’s still something that is difficult to discuss .
  3. Just as a foot note: If you scroll through my page, you’ll see that many of the posters I use are by a great artist known as Midnight Marauder. He recently won a contest where one of his posters for the above-mentioned Maniac will be used on a limited edition DVD. So go buy it off of Amazon U.K. Also visit his site and look at his other fantastic work.
  4. There is one other project in the works, and it’s one I didn’t expect. It was something that simply started as an essay, a little writing piece that wouldn’t be published. But it has blossomed into something more, and I’m hesitant to say that I hope to develop it into a novel, a piece of pure Gonzo journalism. It has been at times difficult. It’s personal so remembering some events and integrating them to a story has made me at times depressed, laugh, angry, but most importantly: It has been freeing. Which is why I got into journalism in the first place and it’s a feeling I haven’t felt in a long time. It’s not something that will be finished soon, or even possibly something I will finish at all. I don’t know where it will go or how I will get there.  But if I do, I’ll publish it chapter by chapter… right here. Hopefully Dr. Thompson would approve.
  5. I’m not going anywhere. This website will keep going. I’ll persevere. There was a period where I considered letting go and closing shop. Letting the Buffalo roam outside my heart, as it were. Then I realized that is not an option. It would be a bit insulting to the (rather small) group of people who have been reading my reviews from genesis. So thank you. And to say I’m sorry again is not enough.

Kevin A. Entrekin

Leave a Reply

